Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base

Clarins has a habit of christening their products with unnecessarily long names, and their recent skin base offering is no exception. The Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base is the latest addition to my morning routine, and it features in various ways.

What is it? It can be used as a primer, a highlighter, or mixed into foundation to give it more of a glow. It comes in three shades, and I have the lightest and pinkest of the capsule collection (001 Rose), and its colour and sheen is beautiful. Pearlescent but not sparkly, its subtlety makes it perfect for day-to-day use. Housed in a squeezey tube with a pump at the top, it is perfect for travelling and one pump is enough for me to pop onto my cheekbones, cupid’s bow and brow bone. If you have very fair skin like myself, it is the perfect colour to enhance your natural “glow”, and consequently can be used under makeup as well. I have used it as a primer, and whilst I was noticeably more ethereal looking, it caused my skin to break out on my chin and centre of my forehead, which is why I now only use it as a highlighter (I have very sensitive skin). It has a lovely subtle floral smell without being intrusive, and I’ve found it can also be used on my décolletage on the high points of my collar bones if I’m going out in the evening, as it looks gorgeous in candle light.

Do you need it? No. Do you want it? Yes!

20140318-205737.jpg

20140318-205817.jpg
left: one pump of the liquid right: one pump of the liquid blended

Leave a comment