Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

Chocolate and makeup are two of my favourite things, so upon discovering Too Face had created an eyeshadow palette combining the two, I was more than a tad excited. I was lucky enough to receive this for my birthday a couple of weeks ago, and after only a few days in my possession, I’m in love with it.

It boasts an array of chocolatey hues, including beiges, browns and purples, with some pink, gold and khaki thrown in for good measure. The names are adorable to boot; “Gilded Ganache”, “Salted Caramel” are among my favourites, and the shadows are housed in a tin case resembling a chocolate bar. The chocolate theme doesn’t stop there, though; the eyeshades are formulated with cocoa powder and consequently smell as good as they look.

Admittedly, I’m often wary of products like these as it can sometimes be a case of style over substance, but I was wrong; the shadows have good pigmentation and last a relatively long time. There are three distinct finishes in the palette; metallic, matte and sparkly. The latter of these is my least favourite, mostly because they are the least pigmented and have the least amount of staying power. “Haute Chocolate” “Amaretto” and “Hazelnut” are my top picks, and, coincidentally, they are all metallic finishes. What I love about this palette (other than its theme) is that although most of the colours fall on either end of the neutrals spectrum, you’re able to create a smokey eye just as easily as a simple day look.

This palette is my first Too Faced experience, and if this palette is an accurate representation of the brand’s quality and quirkiness, then I’m quite impressed!

I must warn you, however: although these smell heavenly, you must resist the urge to dig in…!

20140330-171915.jpg

20140330-172004.jpg

Leave a Reply

